Now Playing:

2009 NEA Jazz Masters Announced

NEA Jazz Masters

The National Endowment for the Arts has announced the recipients of the 2009 NEA Jazz Masters Award—the United States’ highest honour for jazz artists. The six recipients will each receive a $25,000 grant award, and will be publicly honored in an awards ceremony and concert on Friday, October 17, 2008.

The six 2009 NEA Jazz Masters are:

  • George Benson (vocalist and solo instrumentalist, guitar)
  • Jimmy Cobb (rhythm instrumentalist, drums)
  • Lee Konitz (solo instrumentalist, saxophone)
  • Toots Thielemans (solo instrumentalist, harmonica and guitar)
  • Snooky Young (solo instrumentalist, trumpet).

Recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder will receive the 2009 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.

“Jazz is a vital part of our nation’s history and cultural heritage,” said NEA Chairman Dana Gioia, “and I am delighted to announce the artists of the class of 2009, whose bodies of work have had, and continue to have, a decisive and enduring impact on the development of this art form.”

For more infomation visit

Sorry, you need to register and log in to post a comment.

The Jazz Messenger

Sign up to receive our weekly e-newsletter, The Jazz Messenger.

Featured Video

Jazz Calendar Login

Forgot your password? Forgot your username?